Middle School Curriculum

The Stamford American Middle School experience is for students in Grade 6 to Grade 8. With a nurturing network of teachers and administrators, students can expect a warm, optimistic and empowering environment for growth.

Programs of Study

The inquiry-based Middle School curriculum uses the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Program (IB MYP) integrated with American Education Reaches Out (AERO) standards. Students are required to study topics from 8 subject groups:

  • Language and Literature (English)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Individuals and Societies
  • Language Acquisition
  • Arts
  • Design
  • Physical and Health Education

The IB MYP framework is centered on the academic, emotional and social development of young individuals. MYP teachers develop inquiry units based on global contexts and concepts, approaches to learning skills, criteria-based assessments, and service-as-action opportunities. Middle School students are guided and inspired to apply the concepts they learn to global issues. 

Click here for CPE Approved Course Names.

Visit our applications page for student enrollment requirements.